Edition 2020 cancelled;
dates 2021 to be confirmed
oemOmega European Masters
Follow us on  facebooktwitterinstagram


Fitzpatrick 40 years after Ballesteros

The English Matthew Fitzpatrick is the first defending champion at the Omega European Masters in 40 years to win for two consecutive years. Fitzpatrick beat the Danish Lucas Bjerregaard in the playoff.

Many first-class golf professionals have tried in the last decades to win the renowned Swiss tournament in Crans-Montana twice in a row. Since the victories of the unforgettable Spaniard Severiano Ballesteros in 1977 and 1978, no one has succeeded, until this week the 24-year-old golfer from Sheffield, UK. Fitzpatrick is currently one of the best European golfers. He has only been playing as a professional golfer since the end of 2014, but has won five tournaments on the European circuit.

Matthew Fitzpatrick saved the triumphant victory on the 18th hole, surrounded by thousands of spectators. In the fourth round, as well as in the play-off, he played a birdie on the last hole.

Tournament organizers would like to see players known added their name on the Omega European Masters trophy. Fitzpatrick matches this profile. The decision wasn’t the case in 2008. That year, the outsider Jean-François Lucquin from France took the trophy home after the play-off with the Northern Irish superstar, Rory McIlroy. Today, McIlroy's name is still missing from the list of winners.

Title Sponsor

Main sponsors